Stroller,
Thanks for getting back to me on this. My original intent was to only send mail from abulafia, not receive it from outside (of course it can be delivered locally). Is it still necessary to have an MX record made for abulafia? Maybe I'll go ahead and give that a try.
Joomla has always had a valid address as far as
mail.ipr.edu is concerned, but is from an address that doesn't exist locally on abulafia- matter? In my experience this from address hasn't mattered. Unfortunately in joomla I can't use an smtp server with ssl and a-plus requires it. If I could this whole mess could be avioded- I'm not a mail man as it were.
-jason
On Fri, Apr 18, 2008 at 4:52 AM, Stroller <
stroller@stellar.eclipse.co.uk> wrote:
Hi there,
Sorry to be so long replying - I've been busy with work & haven't been reading the list. In case you're still having problems - and for the benefit of teh Googles - it looks to me like mail.ipr.edu may be doing clever greylisting & stuff.
If I telnet in and - giving a legitimate from: address - try sending a message to jason@ipr.edu then it tells me to try again later. If I try sending one to root@abulafia.ipr.edu I get user unknown (in fact, I think there is no MX record for abulafia.ipr.edu).
I don't know for sure whether things have changed at mail.ipr.edu in the last week, but maybe it's rejecting the mail because the from: address is invalid. I would try changing the from: address set by Joomba.
Stroller.
On 11 Apr 2008, at 20:31, Jason Messerschmitt wrote:
Thanks for your response. Here is the output of my telnet test. I guess I'm really not sure what to make of it. The bolded text is of some concern to me.
pc130:~ admin$ telnet mail.ipr.edu 25
Trying 66.226.64.2...
Connected to mail.ipr.edu.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 pro.abac.com ESMTP Sendmail 8.14.1/8.14.1; Fri, 11 Apr 2008 12:27:30 -0700 (PDT)
helo abulafia.ipr.edu
250 pro.abac.com Hello 75-146-145-253-stlouispark.mn.minn.hfc.comcastbusiness.net [75.146.145.253] (may be forged), pleased to meet you
mail from:root@abulafia.ipr.edu
250 2.1.0 root@abulafia.ipr.edu... Sender ok
rcpt to:jason@ipr.edu
550 5.1.1 jason@ipr.edu... User unknown
Thanks again. I'm not necessarily looking for someone to give me the answer, as it were, but if I could get some help looking in the right direction I would be very appreciative.
Best to you,
Jason
On Fri, Apr 11, 2008 at 12:50 AM, Stroller <stroller@stellar.eclipse.co.uk> wrote:
It's kinda difficult to help with this, without knowing what the A-Plus server is seeing.
An unsanitised copy of the bounce message would probably show the problem.
Does it definitely show the correct email address of a user for which A-Plus has a mailbox?
Can you reproduce the problem telnetting to the A-Plus MX server on port 25?
http://www.yuki-onna.co.uk/email/smtp.html
http://www.simplescripts.de/smtp-check-port-25-telnet-command.htm
Stroller
On 10 Apr 2008, at 19:44, Jason Messerschmitt wrote:
I guess I'll dip my toes in here and admit that I can't figure this out.
Synopsis: I've setup Postfix to be a mail out only smtp server. I just want it for our Joomla based web pages and our helpdesk to be able to mail to users from the local server. The problem is this: I can mail to any domain (gmail, hotmail, yahoo, etc) without problem, but I can't receive mail directly through our A-plus based mail (the worst!). What happens is that A-plus' server rejects the user as unkown even though I know it is correct. What really gets my goat is that after that message is returned to my server it is then delivered to the A-plus server and thusly shows up in my webmail and email client. Below are my configs.
--
gentoo-user@lists.gentoo.org mailing list