SMTP Attacks 2006-10-31 - By Harold Hallikainen
Back
>>> On Tue, 2006-10-31 at 15:35 +0700, Budi Febrianto wrote: >>>> Rick Stevens wrote: >>>> > >>>> > Nah, I don't publicly blacklist them...I just don't let them into >>>> our >>>> > network...and there are a few specific holes in that list for >>>> legitimate >>>> > servers that I know about. >>>> > >>>> > Spamhaus, however, are Nazis and should be sued. >>>> > >>>> >>>> Why you say Spamhaus are Nazis? I use they services for many months >>>> now. >>>> Is there something that I don't know? >>> >>> Yes. God help you if you ever get on their list. It's damned near >>> impossible to get off--even if you were incorrectly listed or can prove >>> whatever was wrong has been fixed. >>> >>> They provide NO mechanism to unlist yourself or submit your site for a >>> check (or didn't last time I checked), and if you were unfairly listed, >>> they offer no apologies if they do take you off. >>> >>> Their blocks can be draconian...I've seen them list an entire /19 >>> network because ONE server had been compromised. >>> >>> I applaud their efforts, but the way they do things is really, really >>> bush league. If you're going to label someone as a spammer based on >>> someone else's say-so, you'd better provide ways to get off the list if >>> you've been put on it. They don't, and that's why I consider them >>> Nazis. >>> >>> >>> ...ir attitude is "F*ck you...you're a spammer and will >>> always be a spammer > > >> Any comments on http://www.spamcop.net ? They seem to be working well >> for >> me. I can watch /var/maillog and watch spam being rejected all day. >> Here's >> one from a few minutes ago... > >> Oct 31 09:38:55 sujan sendmail[2169]: ruleset=check_relay, >> arg1=OL88-54.fibertel.com.ar, arg2=127.0.0.2, relay=OL88-54.fiberte >> l.com.ar [24.232.54.88], reject=553 5.3.0 Spam blocked see: >> http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml?24.232.54.88 > > >> Harold
> > hm, spamcop blocks too many addresses for me. so, I often > got no mails from friends that send from big nets (like strato.de, > aol.de, 1und1.de and so on). so I don't use it anymore. > > try these ones: > dul.maps.vix.com, relays.orbs.org, opm.blitzed.org, rfc-ignorant.org, > cbl.abuseat.org > > or if you have one more that's very good, just give me a hint :) > > thx & cheers > oliver > > > > >
I've only had trouble with one mailing list I subscribe to getting listed on spamcop. I added this:
connect:mit.edu OK
to /etc/mail/access
A little more user friendly way to "whitelist" senders would be nice, but this worked.
Harold
-- FCC Rules Updated Daily at http://www.hallikainen.com - Advertising opportunities available!
__ ____ ____ ____ ____ ____ ____ ____ ____ ____ Redhat-install-list mailing list Redhat-install-list@(protected) https://www.redhat.com/mailman/listinfo/redhat-install-list To Unsubscribe Go To ABOVE URL or send a message to: redhat-install-list-request@(protected) Subject: unsubscribe
|
|